Area Work Incentives Coordinators

The Area Work Incentives Coordinator (AWIC) is a position established by the Commissioner to improve service to Social Security disability beneficiaries and Supplemental Security Income disability recipients who wish to work.

The AWICs manage and coordinate work incentives, public outreach, and service programs. Additional information about the AWICs and other Region's AWIC contact information can be found at:

The 6 states in the Chicago Region are organized into 9 Areas. An AWIC is available in each Area, as follows:

Area Name and Phone Number Service Area
Area 1Joani Werner
(866) 667-6032
All Minnesota offices except Fergus Falls; plus Superior WI; plus Houghton, Ironwood, Marquette, Sault St. Marie, and Escanaba MI
Area 2Connie Davalt
(866) 807-5995
All Wisconsin offices except Superior
Area 3Cathy Clack
Detroit MI Area
All Detroit offices, Ann Arbor, Dearborn, Farmington Hills, Hamtramck, Highland Park, Inkster, Livonia, Monroe, Mt. Clemens, Pontiac, Port Huron, Roseville, Royal Oak, Sterling Heights, Wyandotte
Area 4 Cathy Clack

Lower Michigan
Adrian, Alpena, Battle Creek, Bay City, Benton Harbor, Big Rapids, Cadillac, Flint (Downtown), Grand Rapids, Holland, Jackson, Kalamazoo, Lansing, Ludington, Mt. Pleasant, Muskegon, North Flint, Owosso, Petoskey, Saginaw, Traverse City, West Branch
Area 5Nicole Hanacek
Northern Ohio
Akron (Downtown), Akron (West), Ashtabula, Bowling Green, Canton, All Cleveland Offices, Defiance, Euclid, Findlay, Fremont, Lima, Lorain, Medina, New Philadelphia, Painesville, Ravenna, Sandusky, Toledo (Downtown), University Circle, Warren, West Toledo, Wooster, Youngstown
Area 6Debi Schwartz
Southern Ohio
Athens, Batavia, Cambridge, Chillicothe, All Cincinnati and Columbus offices, Dayton, East Liverpool, Gallipolis, Hamilton, Ironton, Lancaster, Mansfield, Marietta, Marion, Middletown, Newark, Piqua, Portsmouth, Springfield, Steubenville, West Dayton, Xenia, Zanesville
Area 7John Marshall
Chicago IL Area
Bloomingdale, All Chicago Offices, Evanston, Hillside, North Riverside, Prospect Heights, Southwest Suburban, Waukegan
Area 8Charles Killen
(309) 347-1025
Illinois Outside Chicago
Alton, Aurora, Belleville, Bloomington, Cairo, Carbondale, Champaign, Danville, Decatur, East St. Louis, Effingham, Elgin, Freeport, Galesburg, Harrisburg, Joliet, Kankakee, Litchfield, Mt. Vernon, Pekin, Peoria, Peru, Quincy, Rock Island, Rockford, Springfield, Sterling, West Frankfort, Woodridge, Woodstock
Area 9Becky Deetz
(877) 223-6067
All Indiana offices